Roasted Poblano Hummus

poblano hummus - serifandspice.wordpress.com
I’ll be honest with you, and I may catch some flack for this, but I have no idea why everyone doesn’t make their own hummus from scratch. I’ll give you a break if you don’t own a food processor, but if you do, you’re guilty as charged.

I get it, we’re all lazy sometimes. Heck, I’m lazy most of time. I’m a self-proclaimed procrastinator and hate washing dishes, and I especially loathe washing my food processor after using it—but I avoid buying store bought hummus at all costs. Sure, every once in a while I will pick some up to bring to a party on a whim…yet I always feel that twinge of regret, knowing that if I had planned ahead, I could have made it better, and cheaper—much cheaper—than store bought.

The most expensive part of making hummus is the tahini, a.k.a. sesame seed paste. Fortunately, once you’ve spent 10-15 minutes searching for it at your grocery store (mine was hidden right next to the gluten free section in my local Shoprite), and after you’ve shelled out $5-7 for it, when refrigerated, it will last you months and months—just like other natural nut butters. When first opened, be sure to give it a very good stir, to mix the separated oils back into it. You may need to do this occasionally when using it in the future. Once this small initial “investment” is made, this container of tahini will yield at least a couple quarts of homemade hummus, plus it can be used to make many other things too.

Ok, so with the tahini out of the way, your only other main ingredients are canned chick peas, a clove or two of garlic, olive oil, lemon juice, and some seasoning. That’s it. Sure, I often jazz it up with more things (like you’ll see below), but the basic, simple recipe for hummus is so incredibly easy and cheap to make yourself. Honestly, the hardest part of the whole “ordeal” is cleaning your food processor after you’ve whipped up a batch of hummus.

poblano hummus - serifandspice.wordpress.com

I’ve made many a hummus in the past, so many times that I never follow an exact recipe. I know the basic ratios and adjust seasonings as needed and based on how I’m feeling that day. A little bit of this, a little bit of that. Almost always, I season my hummus with cumin, salt, and pepper and then throw in whatever other spices I feel like at the time. Sometimes it’s smoked paprika, or coriander. Another time I made green olive hummus when the idea struck me as I was staring into my fridge looking for my tahini jar.

Earlier this month, Beth at Budget Bytes inspired me with her roasted poblano hummus. I logged that idea into my memory and told myself to make some soon. Father’s day provided the perfect time to make it to serve as an appetizer at our barbecue.

poblano hummus - serifandspice.wordpress.com

Alright, so yes, I’ll warn you, there’s one or two extra steps with this roasted poblano hummus, but it’s worth the minimal extra effort—trust me. The smokiness of the roasted pepper and garlic bring another level of taste to the hummus. It makes your guests say, “mmmm… this is tasty! What’s in it?” or “Really? You made this yourself?” and even, “I never eat hummus, but this is great.” You might just pat yourself on the back at the end of the day, wondering why it took you so long to try making hummus yourself.

Go ahead, do it.

roasted poblano hummus - serifandspice.wordpress.com

Roasted Poblano and Garlic Hummus

  • 1, 15 oz. can Chick Peas, drained, liquid reserved
  • 1 Poblano pepper
  • 3 cloves of Garlic
  • 2 heaping tablespoons of Tahini
  • Juice of 2 limes
  • 1 teaspoon Ground Cumin
  • 2 tablespoons to a 1/4 cup Olive Oil
  • Salt and pepper to taste
    (I use about 1 teaspoon salt, 1/4 teaspoon pepper)
  • Chopped Cilantro, if desired
    (I left this out because my sister-in-law dislikes cilantro)
  1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper and rub pepper and garlic cloves with a little olive oil. Roast pepper for 20-30 minutes, until skin is brown and cracked. Remove garlic clove around 15 minutes, making sure not to burn it.
  2. Set pepper and garlic aside, allow to cool. Move on to starting the hummus.
  3. Add drained chick peas, tahini, juice of limes, cumin, salt and pepper to food processor. Pulse a few times until chick peas start to break down.
  4. Go back to the roasted pepper and peel charred skin away from pepper. Cut off stem, remove seeds, and chopped roughly. Add to food processor, along with roasted garlic cloves.
  5. Continue to process hummus and drizzle in olive oil through the top attachment until a desired smooth, but still thick, consistency is reached. Some people use less oil and substitute the reserved chick pea liquid or use a little water. Use which ever you desire. (I use mostly oil because it’s richer that way)
  6. Taste and re-season if needed.

Notes:
I often prepare my hummus a day ahead of time. It thickens slightly when refrigerated over night.

I generally serve my hummus with gluten free tortilla chips, carrots and celery.

Poblano peppers are not spicy, so if you would like some heat in your hummus, toss in a roasted jalepeno pepper, like Beth did, or add a dash of cayenne pepper.

6 responses to “Roasted Poblano Hummus

  1. I loved how the roasting really mellowed out heat of the poblano. And appreciated the non-cilantro version. When you mentioned refrigerating the tahini I immediately double checked mine that’s been in the cabinet for months. It doesn’t say you need to but probably helps keep it together better.

  2. I’m happy you liked it! Poblanos usually aren’t spicy, to me at least. Every once in awhile you may get one that is, but on the Scoval scale they’re very low. I tend to keep tahini for roughly a year…so I keep it in the fridge to help extend its freshness. I do the same with natural peanut butter.

  3. I make TONS of hummus– never with poblanos though! I have been making a lot of tacos with chard, creme fraiche and roasted poblanos-
    they might be my favorite chile. Looks great!

  4. This reminds me of a hummus I made with jalapenos one time, but this looks so much better!

Leave a Reply

