Strawberry Salsa

strawberry-salsa2
If you’re anything like me, and every other food blogger I (virtually) know, when the line blurs between spring and summer, you’re anxiously waiting for strawberry season to come around the corner. You’re able to come up with multiple viable excuses why you need 3 quarts of strawberries, telling yourself that of course you can eat of all them before they start to expire. You find recipes for strawberry everything. Strawberry rhubarb pie, strawberries on your salad, strawberry lavender jam, or even frozen strawberry margarita jello shots, and my personal favorite Strawberry Salsa.

I had strawberry salsa for the first time about 8 years ago. To this day, I still remember my first taste of it on a lime scented tortilla chip: unique, bright, sweet, spicy, acidic, with a hint of cilantro. We were at my Aunts’ house celebrating something, that particular something we were celebrating escapes me at this time, but whatever it was required a bbq—because it was summer of course. Without a doubt, in addition to grilled meats, every bbq requires chips and salsa. You can’t get away without them. They’re mandatory, take my word for it. And what makes any ordinary tortilla chip 100 times better? Homemade salsa.

Fruit salsas are on my favorite types of salsa. They exemplify the brightness of summer and bring a cool spicy sweetness to a warm day. My second favorite type is mango salsa—but I’ll save that recipe for another day. This strawberry salsas show some serious love. It takes a little bit of time to finely dice every ingredient, but in the end, the half hour of chopping pays off with compliments all day long. And who doesn’t love some ego boosting every now and then?

strawberry-salsa1

Strawberry Salsa

  • 1 pint strawberries chopped
  • 2 tsp. sugar
  • 2 TBLS. Jalapeno peppers chopped
  • 1/2 red onion chopped
  • 2 TBLS. fresh cilantro
    (I use a lot more than that, but some people aren’t cilantro fans)
  • 3 TBLS. Strawberry vinegar
    (I can’t ever find strawberry vinegar and use raspberry white balsamic instead)

MIx all ingredients together. Add more cilantro and jalapenos if you like it spicy! Serve with gluten free tortilla chips.

I usually double the recipe and make it a day ahead of time so that all time consuming prep for my bbq’s are done a day ahead of time. Then, the day of, all I have to do is take everything out of the fridge and enjoy the day with my friends and family.

* This recipe was shared with me from my Aunt Nancy. Nancy credits her friend Pam for giving the recipe to her.

strawberry-salsa3

4 responses to “Strawberry Salsa

  1. I’m with you–I love any kind of fruit salsa. Thanks for sharing my jam post. Funny enough I just started making strawberry vinegar last night with some almost overripe berries I had. It takes about a week so we’ll see!

Leave a Reply

