Hello Chocolate, my old friend

chocolatecake1

Chocolate is patient, chocolate is kind. Chocolate makes any dessert better.

Many of us show gratitude and love with food. Mother’s Day is no different, so it wasn’t a surprise when my brother Sean, and sister-in-law, Melissa, asked me, my husband, and our parents to come to Brooklyn for Mother’s Day.

Melissa made us all dinner, avidly avoiding all allergy restrictions in the family: no gluten, no pork, nothing with too much heavy cream. She did an amazing job cooking for 6 people, served us local NY wine, appetizers, Balsamic Roasted Asparagus, Honey Roasted Rhubarb Salad, and 3-day-in-the-making short ribs.

I was happy when she took me up on my offer to bring something that day since I of course wanted to show some of my love too. I was secretly hoping she was going to ask me to bring dessert, and she did! Chocolate is the epitome of love. My husband and I are huge chocolate fans, so I knew my recipe search would start there.

I’ve been wanting to try my hand at gluten free baking for awhile now. As with any baking, gluten free baking takes precision, with the added complication of usually using multiple different flours, possibly some Xanthum Gum, and sometimes other less heard of ingredients. I wanted to take the simpler approach for my first attempt – make something naturally gluten free and don’t use any flour at all.

Flourless Chocolate Cake was the easy answer: Chocolate, eggs, sugar, butter, vanilla, almond meal. Pure, simple, decadent. Nothing better than that. The hardest part was deciding which recipe to use.  I went with a Dark Chocolate Goddess Cake. But a close contender was this one.

This chocolate cake is so dense and rich. It’s similar to fudgy brownies, but more intense and firmer (and more delicious). You only need one piece to satisfy any chocolate craving – and I’ll warn you to start with a small one at that. It would be great served with some fresh whipped cream and berries and/or dusted with unsweetened cocoa or powdered sugar.

chocolatecake2

Dark Goddess Cake

(Courtesy of Gluten Free Goddess)

  • 12 ounces bittersweet or dark chocolate, chopped
  • 1 1/2 sticks unsalted butter, cut into pieces (6 oz. butter)
  • 1 tablespoon bourbon vanilla extract
  • 7 large organic free-range eggs
  • 1 cup organic light brown sugar, packed
  • 1/2 cup organic white cane sugar
  • 1/4 cup organic unsweetened cocoa
  • 1/2 cup almond flour
  1. Preheat oven to 350ºF.
  2. Line the bottom of a 9-inch Springform pan with a circle of parchment paper; carefully butter the paper.
  3. Place chocolate and butter in a microwave safe glass bowl (I recommend Pyrex). Microwave a couple minutes at a time on a low heat setting, checking often, until the chocolate and butter have melted. Stir each time you check it. Be sure not to burn it. Set aside and allow to cool. Stir occasionally while cooling so that the chocolate stays smooth.
    (Alternatively, you could use the double boiler method over the stop top)
  4. With an electric mixer, beat all 7 eggs until light and fluffy.
  5. Add sugar and beat again until mixture is thick and flows like ribbons.
  6. Very slowly pour half the melted, cooled chocolate into the egg mixture. This tempers the eggs, to insure you don’t end up with scrambled eggs. Beat on low to combine. Blend in remaining chocolate. It’s easiest to mix with a spatula at this point, making sure to fully incorporate all the chocolate.
  7. Stir in the vanilla.
  8. Sift the cocoa into the batter and gently mix. Repeat with the almond meal.
  9. Pour batter into springform pan and bake at 350 for about 50 minutes. Oven times vary. If you like it fudgier, err on the lesser side. If you want a drier, more cake like consistency, bake a little longer. (I took mine out right at 50 minutes)
  10. Cool on a wire rack, in springform pan. Loosen edges of cake with flat spatula.

At this point, I left it in the springform pan to cool and saved it for the next day. Because I was traveling to Brooklyn with it, I kept it in its pan until I served and sliced it. Note that while baking the cake will puff up quite a bit. While cooling, it will shrink back down a bit and the top will be cracked. That’s okay, it’s still delicious.

Note: Gluten Free Goddess seems to imply from her recipe that you can leave out the almond meal if you’d like. When looking for almond meal, look for it in your gluten free or baking section of your grocery store. Alternatively, if you’re super crafty, you can make your own almond meal, which I hope to do at some point, and also make my own almond milk in the same process.

So tell me, what’s your favorite gluten free dessert? Is it one naturally without gluten or have you braved it and jumped full force into gluten free baking? What did you make for Mother’s Day?

Bonus points to you if recognize what my post title is referencing.

4 responses to “Hello Chocolate, my old friend

  1. Yummy! Though perhaps it was safer for me not to know the recipe. Thanks for sharing my other posts–the short ribs will be up a a week or so. Three days to cook allows at least a little time to write the post 🙂

    • Haha yes, that’s usually what keeps me from baking most of the time, knowing how much butter and sugar goes into things. Fortunately, it’s so rich you only need one small piece!

Leave a Reply

