Weekly Photo Challenge – Above

above - serifandspice.wordpress.com

This week’s photo challenge by The Daily Post is Above. “Find a subject and instead of taking a picture from in front of, at an angle, to the side, or from behind, take it directly from above!”

Even though it’s only my 3rd week participating in the challenge, this theme has been my favorite. It addresses exactly what I love to do when taking photos, to come at your subject from a different perspective to capture something new and unexpected. Creating a new abstract image out of something ordinary and concrete is a favorite form of art for me.

For these photos I kept to my kitchen and dining room, taking pictures of some of my favorite things. I held the camera straight above, tried to keep as still as possible, and clicked away. Because I’m short, many of the pictures were taken completely blind. The pictures of the glasses, my favorite of this set, were taken with my arms above me with the camera pointed down.

I hope you enjoy these as much as I do.

above - serifandspice.wordpress.com above - serifandspice.wordpress.com above - serifandspice.wordpress.com above - serifandspice.wordpress.com above - serifandspice.wordpress.com above - serifandspice.wordpress.com above - serifandspice.wordpress.com above - serifandspice.wordpress.com

7 responses to “Weekly Photo Challenge – Above

  1. Pingback: Weekly Photo Prompt – From Above | Joe's Musings·

  2. Pingback: 5-5-13 Cinco de Mayo (Has Nothing To Do With This) Weekly Photo Challenge – From Above | The Quotidian Hudson·

  3. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: From Above | Flickr Comments·

Leave a Reply

