Guiltless guilty pleasure – Roasted Vegetables

roasted vegetables - serifandspice.wordpress.com

Chocolate is my #1 guilty pleasure, but any type of roasted vegetable lies within my top 5 list – along with wine, pecan pie and lamb floating somewhere in between 2 through 5, rotating their position on any given day. One of the best things about this guilty pleasure is that it is actually healthy! Something I don’t have to feel guilty about. I can fill my plate to brim with these beauties and not have one ounce of regret. What’s better than that? (chocolate.)

One year for Christmas, I asked for a large roasting pan. My mom was excited. She dreams that one day I will make the Thanksgiving turkey – rather than running in the opposite direction from it. Unfortunately for her, I had other motives – to roast large amounts of vegetables! On a standard day when I only roast one, two or possibly three veggies at a time, I use my sheet pans. When I want to roast an eggplant, multiple green peppers, onions, tomatoes, garlic, zucchinis and chick peas, I pull out the big guns.

Roasting veggies takes a little time, patience, and chopping. In the end it’s always worth it. Once they’re in the oven for a mere matter minutes, your whole house starts to smell delicious, often leaving it’s aroma lingering in your kitchen till the next day. Sometimes I wake up the day after roasting, walk down to my kitchen and think about eating leftover veggies for breakfast. They taste great with eggs!

If it wasn’t for my carnivorous husband, I could eat roasted vegetables on its own for dinner. Top them with some feta, maybe toss in a scoop of quinoa, call it a day. Instead, I simply sauteed two chicken breasts to be our “side dish,” and let two huge spoonfuls of roasted veggies sprinkled with feta cheese be the real star on the plate.

roasted vegetables - serifandspice.wordpress.com

Oven Roasted Vegetables

(Serves 4-6 as a side dish)
  • 1 eggplant, cut into 1 1/2 inch pieces
  • 2 zucchinis or yellow summer squash, cut into 1 inch rounds
  • 2 medium onions, halved and cut into quarters
  • 1 pint of cherry tomatoes
  • 2 green peppers, cut into 1-2 inch pieces
  • 5 cloves of garlic, very roughly chopped
  • 1 can of garbanzo beans, drained, rinsed and dried off
  • 3 tablespoons to a 1/4 cup olive oil
  • 2 tablespoons Herb-de-provence (or any combination of herbs that you’d like)
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon ground black pepper
  • drizzle of balsamic vinegar
  1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees.
  2. Chop all vegetables to desired size, remembering that they will cook down considerably. Add all vegetables and chick peas to your roasting pan.
  3. Drizzle olive oil over vegetables, sprinkle herb mixture. Toss to coat.
  4. Roast vegetables in oven, checking every 20 minutes to stir. Continue to cook to desired doneness. I usually roast mine anywhere from 45 minutes to an hour and 15 minutes. Cooking time will vary.
  5. Drizzle balsamic vinegar over vegetables, season with more salt and pepper if need. Serve and Enjoy.

roasted vegetables - serifandspice.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

