An ode to oatmeal

Pumpkin Oatmeal IngredientsI am not a morning person. When I finally roll out of bed on those coveted weekend mornings that I actually get sleep in, I look forward to two things – a big cup of freshly brewed coffee and homemade oatmeal.

There’s something about oatmeal that makes my day start off right. The simplicity of it. The uncomplicated deliciousness. The few minutes spent over the stove mindlessly stirring oats and water together as my mind wakes up. The smell of coffee permeating the air. Then of course, there’s that special moment of enjoying a big bowl of satisfying oatmeal while sitting on my couch basking in the morning sunshine coming through our bay window.

Most of the time I make simple oatmeal – 1 cup of water, 1/2 cup of oats, a handful of raisons, a generous dousing of cinnamon, a small pinch of salt, and a splash of vanilla and honey for sweetness. For my very first blog post, I thought I’d jazz it up a bit – Pumpkin Spice Banana Oatmeal. A while back, I saw Closet Cooking’s blog post a recipe for pumpkin oatmeal and I’ve been inspired to make my own version ever since.

I love everything pumpkin (have you seen my pumpkin Pinterest board?). As soon as there’s a slight chill in the air I flip the calendar to September, deeming it no longer summer in my mind, I crave Starbucks Pumpkin Lattes, Pumpkin Chili, Pumpkin Bread, Pumpkin Soup, Pumpkin Cookies – you name it, I’m thinking about pumpkin. I like my pumpkin dishes with a bit spice and this oatmeal is no exception. This recipe is sure to please. So open up that can of pumpkin, break out your spice jars and let’s get cooking.DSCN7025

I used standard Quaker Oatmeal Rolled Oats (not instant). We buy them in bulk from Costco for a fantastic price. This would also be delicious with heartier oats like Irish/Steal Cut Oats – you’d just have allow more cooking time for them to soften up.

Step 1 – over low heat, add 1 cup of water and 1/2 cup of oats (standard oatmeal ratio of 2:1) to a small sauce pan. Nonstick would work best for easy clean up. When oatmeal dries it’s like glue, resulting in a fun frustrating clean up job. Note: some people boil the water first, then add the oats. Do whichever makes you happy. I believe starting the oats and water together results in a creamier texture.DSCN7041

Stir frequently until oats and water come together and start to thicken.

Step 2 – Add pumpkin, chopped banana, and spices. Stir until combined. Continue to cook until your oatmeal has reached the desired consistency. It will be a little looser than regular oatmeal because of the pumpkin puree. As your oatmeal reaches its desired doneness, add maple syrup to sweeten.DSCN7043

Step 3 – Serve and Enjoy. This recipe either makes one massive portion or two decent size 1 cup portions each. I attempted to eat all of it in one sitting but was defeated. Don’t worry, it saves well – just reheat gently and enjoy once again.

Pumpkin Spice Banana Oatmeal

RECIPE:DSCN7049

1 cup of water

1/2 cup of dry uncooked rolled oats

3 tablespoons of Pumpkin Puree

1 Banana cut into pieces

1/2 teaspoon Cinnamon (I use Saigon Cinnamon for an extra punch)

1/4 teaspoon Ground Ginger

1/8 teaspoon Allspice

1/8 teaspoon Ground Cloves

One pinch of Nutmeg

1/8 teaspoon Salt

1 teaspoon or more of pure Maple Syrup (I used Grade B)

DIRECTIONS:

• Add oats and water to a nonstick sauce pan. Stirring often, cook over low heat until the mixture starts to thicken.

• Add spices, pumpkin puree and bananas. Stir well to combine.

• Keep stirring and cooking oatmeal over low heat. Once the desired consistency is reached, add maple syrup to sweeten.

• Serve and enjoy.

2 responses to “An ode to oatmeal

  1. Don’t forget, oats/oatmeal are also the perfect complex (good) carb to kickstart your metabolism in the morning for the diet conscious.

  2. Pingback: July Foodie Pen Pals Reveal Day | Serif and Spice·

Leave a Reply

